Skip to content

Who we are and what we do

Here are the items in our publication scheme which relate to the category 'Organisational information, locations and contacts, constitutional and legal governance, and relationships with other authorities'.

Our constitution

The Council's constitution consists of a number of documents that, under the Local Government Act 2000, are required to be brought together and made available for public inspection.

Council democratic structure

The Council is made up of 12 wards and is represented by 33 elected members; 20 Conservative, six Independent, four Labour, two Liberal Democrat, and one Green Party councillors. Seats on committees are allocated in accordance with political balance between the political groups. A political group can contain members who represent two or more political parties. View information on members including their political parties and political groups.

For more information on the Leader of the Council, the Cabinet and their executive functions visit our council democratic structure page.

The Chairman of the Council is elected by the elected members and has certain precedencies and protocols that go with his position as chairman of the council. In accordance with the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, councillors are organised into political groups. The groups are not necessarily the same as political parties, and a group might contain councillors who represent two or more different parties. Seats on committees are allocated in accordance with political balance between the groups. You can see members of the groups below:

Organisational chart

Our organisational management structure page shows the reporting structure of the directorates and service areas (top three tiers of management).

Our Chief Officers' information page includes information on the post holder, their responsibilities, budgets, benefits-in-kind, teams and number of staff. Generic job descriptions are also included.

Location and opening times

All information relating to the locations of our council buildings; Wyre Forest House, the Hub, and the Depot, and their opening times can be found on the 'directions to our offices' page.

Currently elected councillors' information and contact details

View currently elected councillors' information and their contact details by ward on our 'your district councillor' page.

Contact information

Contact details for all customer facing departments are our 'contact us' page. This can be reached via a link in the footer of every page on this website. 

Election results

View the latest election results on our 'election results' page.

Relationships with other authorities

Wyre Forest district is one of six districts that form the county of Worcestershire. We work with parish and town councils as well as Worcestershire County Council; this also include Worcestershire Regulatory Services and Worcestershire Trading Standards, to deliver services to the public.

We have various shared services between Bromsgrove District Council, Redditch Borough Council and ourselves. Wyre Forest District Council host and pay the salaries of the following staff:

  • North Worcestershire Community Safety Partnership
  • North Worcestershire Economic Development and Regeneration
  • North Worcestershire Emergency Planning
  • North Worcestershire Water Management

Bromsgrove District Council host North Worcestershire Building Control and payroll services for Wyre Forest District Council.

Website feedback
Was this page useful? Required
Yes, I give permission to store and process my data
We will only contact you regarding this feedback.
Back to top