Skip to content

When do elections take place?

The results from all previous elections are available on our election results page. Details of any current elections will be posted on our upcoming elections and vacancies page.

District Council elections

District council elections take place every four years. The last elections to Wyre Forest District Council took place on Thursday 4 May 2023. The next election will be in 2027. 

Town and Parish Council elections

There are three town councils and nine parish councils within the Wyre Forest district area. Elections take place every four years; dates vary by parish/town. The last town and parish council elections took place Thursday 4 May 2023, with the exception of Kidderminster Town Council (Thursday 6 May 2021). 

More information and contact details can be found on our town and parish councils' page.

County Council elections

For representation on Worcestershire County Council, the Wyre Forest area is split into 9 electoral divisions with 1 County Councillor in each division, except Stourport-on-Severn Division where there are two. You can find your County Councillor and division boundaries on Worcestershire County Council's website.

The electoral divisions are as follows;

  • Chaddesley Electoral Division
  • Stourport-on-Severn Electoral Division
  • St Marys Electoral Division
  • St Johns Electoral Division
  • St Georges and St Oswald Electoral Division
  • St Chads Electoral Division
  • St Barnabas Electoral Division
  • Cookley, Wolverley and Wribbenhall Electoral Division
  • Bewdley Electoral Division

Elections for county councillors take place every four years, usually on the first Thursday in May. The last County Council elections took place on Thursday 6 May 2021.

Police and Crime Commissioner elections

The last Police and Crime Commissioner election took place on Thursday 6 May 2021.


If a local councillor resigns or dies, the ‘seat’ becomes vacant and a by-election may be called to find a replacement. A by-election can happen at any time provided the vacancy occurs at least six month prior to the date for normal elections.

Parliamentary elections

Parliamentary elections (general elections or election to UK Parliament), in which you vote for a Member of Parliament, must take place within five years of the previous parliamentary election, but can be called at any time. If an MP dies or resigns a by-election would be called. The last general election took place on Thursday 12 December 2019. You can view the results on our 2017 general election results page.

European Parliamentary elections

These are held every five years, and decide who will represent you in the European Parliament. The last European Parliamentary elections was held in the UK on Thursday 23 May 2019. The local result is available on our results page. The regional result is available on Birmingham City Council's website.

Website feedback
Was this page useful? Required
Yes, I give permission to store and process my data
We will only contact you regarding this feedback.
Back to top