A Guide to the Local Heritage List

What Is A Local Heritage List?

Local heritage listing is a means for a community and a local authority to jointly identify heritage assets that are valued as distinctive elements of the local historic environment. The Local Heritage List identifies those heritage assets that are not protected by statutory designations. A Local Heritage List provides clarity on the location of these assets and what it is about them that is significant. Their local interest could be related to the social and economic history of the area, individuals of local importance, settlement patterns or the age, design and style of buildings.

What Is A Heritage Asset?

A heritage asset can be any building, monument, site, place, area or landscape which is a valued component of the historic environment. It may be designated and have statutory protection or it may be included on a Local Heritage List.

Why Include A Building On The Local Heritage List?

Britain has had a very diverse building history, with each region having different styles and materials, many of which altered dramatically over time. Local Heritage Listing recognises the buildings within Wyre Forest District that help form its character and history and which are not protected by Statutory Designation. In identifying these buildings, the District Council can encourage sympathetic and appropriate design for extensions, and for any other work that would require planning permission, to ensure that the character and appearance of the best examples of the various styles and types of buildings are retained, both for our enjoyment and education, and for the future.

Heritage Assets: Not Just Buildings!

The Local Heritage List is not restricted to buildings. It may comprise sites, places or areas such as village greens or ponds. It may include structures such as bridges and sluices, and historic street furniture such as letterboxes, signposts or telephone boxes.

What Is The Difference Between Listed Buildings And Buildings Included On The Local Heritage List?

Statutorily Listed Buildings are designated by the Government, on the advice of English Heritage. They are graded according to their special architectural or historic significance and are protected by law. Listed Building Consent must be sought prior to undertaking most works. There are policies within the Adopted Local Plan relating directly to Listed Buildings.

Buildings included on the Local Heritage List have a local significance recognised by the council. There is no grading system. They are not given any specific protection through law, but the Adopted Local Plan does contain policies to help safeguard these buildings. No special permission is required when undertaking works, unless planning permission is required, as with any other unlisted property. The former terms Locally Listed Building and Local List are now replaced by the terms Heritage Asset and Local Heritage List.


Local Heritage Assets are not protected in the same way as Nationally Designated Heritage Assets and thus special permission is not needed for repairs. The council does however encourage the use of appropriate materials and design. The general rule of thumb is that any repairs should be undertaken on a like-for-like basis.

Alterations and Extensions

The inclusion of a building on the Local Heritage List does not affect its permitted development rights. Planning permission only has to be sought in the same circumstances as it would be for a building that is not on that list (a separate leaflet explains about permitted development rights). If an extension is proposed, and requires planning permission, then the design of this will be examined during the planning process, to ensure sympathetic and appropriate design is secured, to protect the character and appearance of the building.