STONE PARISH COUNCIL

CHAIRMANS REPORT 2015 - 16

Introduction

The past year has presented Stone Parish Council with more than its fair share of challenges and difficulties, the most subjective of these being the very controversial Planning Application by the Uloom Madinatul Islamic College, which generated unprecedented and overwhelming objects from our Parishioners, despite this we were unable to achieve refusal of the application.

The Parish Council also had to contend with the resignation of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Parish Clerk all within a very short period of time.

Our thanks are due to James Arbuthnott, Jane Siviter for their dedication and unstinting service to the Parish and to Sue Bamford our retiring Clerk for her splendid endeavours for the Parish.

Thanks to the resolve of the remaining Councillors, John Jordan was elected Chairman, with Graham Higgs elected as Vice-Chairman, we are pleased to welcome Stephen Clee as our new Clerk, the remaining Councillors Roger Hobson our longest serving member, Diane Bird, Richard Wignall and our two most recent Councillors Pauline Hart and Pauline Hill who in their own ways will bring consistency and stability to parish matters.

In the 6 months or so as Chairman, I wish to record my sincere thanks to my fellow Councillors and to Stephen Clee our newly appointed Clerk for his on-going guidance and support.

I would also like to extend my thanks for their attendance and valued support to our Wyre Forest District Councillors Stephen Williams, Ian Hardiman and Marcus Hart who regularly attend our Council meetings and present us with their District Council reports.

Parish Communications

Agenda's and Minutes of Council meetings are to be found on the Parish Website http://www.wyreforestdc.gov.uk/ and additionally these will also be displayed in the Parish Notice Boards which are geographically located throughout the Parish.

The Notice Boards are able to display and announce details of events within the Parish, any parishioner wishing to use this facility to publish their events should contact the Parish Clerk.

The main areas of spending and income for 2015-16 are set out in the table below.

Expenditure	£	Income	£
Clerk Salary & Expenses	4,953.12	Precept 6,500.00	
PAYE Tax	243.80	Churchyard Grant/Mis 518.96	
Lengthsman	1,607.00	Localism Grant 750.00	
CALC Subscription	220.52	Lengthsman 1,599.00	
Bank Charges	16.40	VAT Refund 74.67	
Auditing Fees	100.00		
Insurance	207.05		
Training	80.00		
Rotary Printers	65.00		
Churchyard Grant	1,500.00		
Internal Audit	65.00		
	£9,057.89		£9,442.63

Public Footpaths

We are indeed fortunate to have many scenic footpaths throughout the Parish which our Footpaths Officer Glyn Walters regularly monitors for us.

The condition and signposting of the paths is reported on to Worcestershire County Council who are ultimately responsible for the upkeep and care of our footpaths.

We are also grateful for any input from our parishioners who may walk our footpaths.

Road Safety

The Vehicle Activated Signs (VAS) continue to be deployed in strategic areas within the parish, the speed activated signs are regularly rotated on the parish arterial roads of the parish in mandatory speed controlled areas.

The number of activations triggered by speeding motorists is a cause for concern and your Council is actively seeking to have vehicle speed checks carried out by the Police and Highways Authorities.

The Solar Panel operated Bend sign at the bottom of Stone Hill on the A448 has had a beneficial effect in reducing accidents at this point, however motorists still exceed safe and sensible speeds on our roads.

Safety in the Parish

We are fortunate enough to have a low crime rate in our Parish, but this is something which should not be taken for granted, we have a very attentive Policing team lead by PC Andy Wallace ably assisted by PCSO's Rebecca Rushton and Niall Ryland.

The team have regular contact with Parish Police Liaison Officer Councillor Richard Wignall, we look forward to galvanising this relationship and to working with the team to maintain our low crime rate.

Your Council urges our Parishioners to remain vigilant at all times.

Planning Applications

We have considered a substantial number of Planning Applications with most being relatively straightforward in nature, with the exception of the MUSLIM College application previously mentioned.

Lengthsman's Scheme

Your Council is actively seeking a new Lengthsman following the recent resignation of Mr.David Sireshuk,

We are using on an interim basis the services of our original Lengthsman to undertake lengthsman duties when he is able to do so and to assist with keeping the Parish in good order until such time that we are able to appoint a new Lengthsman.

St. Mary's Church, Stone

There are five churches forming Kidderminster East Parish namely St. George, St. Chads, St. Cecila's, St. Cassians and St. Mary's.

The Rector and Senior Priest is Rev Hugh Burton and the team Vicar responsible for St. Mary's is Rev Robert Legge, the Deacon who is relatively new within Kidderminster East is Rachel Akers who will in May be ordained Priest at Worcester Cathedral.

Conclusion

The safety and welfare of our Parish residents is of paramount importance to your Councillors, I am most grateful for their support and encouragement in attaining these yardsticks.

Several members of the public have attended our Parish Council meetings and we value their helpful contribution.

Your Council currently has two Councillor Vacancies, if there is anyone who would like to represent their community in this way, please contact the Clerk for details.

Meetings 2016

The Council will continue to represent residents of the Parish in the best way possible and you are always most welcome to came to our meetings and give us your views and comments on what we are doing. Meetings take place at 7.30 pm on the following dates:

Tuesday 12th July 7.30 pm Parish Room, Stone

Tuesday 13th September 7.30 pm Parish Room, Stone

Tuesday 8th November 7.30 pm Parish Room, Stone

Chairmas:	Clim I A Lamalan	The Levine's	01562 752240
Chairman	Cllr. J A Jordan	The Laurels	01562 753248
		Stone Hill	E-mail: stoneman-
		Stone Kidderminster	john@live.co.uk
		DY10 4AW	
Vice Chairman	Cllr. G F Higgs	Talgarth	01562 770066
		Mustow Green	E-mail:
		Kidderminster DY10	thehiggs2007@btinternet.com
		4LD	
Members	Cllr. Mrs D Bird	The New House	01562 820859
		Shenstone	E-mail:
		Kidderminster	dianebird38@btinternet.com
		DY10 4BL	
	Cllr. Mrs P Hart	4 Butts Lane	01562 60276
		Stone	E-mail:
		Kidderminster DY10	hartpauline@ymail.com
		4BH	,
	Cllr. Mrs P Hill	37 Kittiwake Drive	01562 754823
		KIDDERMINSTER	Email:
		Worcestershire	hill.kittiwake@btinternet.com
		DY10 4RS	
	Cllr. R F Hobson	9 Vicarage Road	01562 66765
		Stone	
		Kidderminster	
		DY10 4BJ	
	Cllr. R. Wignall	21 Stanklyn Lane	07592 959813
	S W. Wignan	Kidderminster DY10	E-mail: live4minis@live.co.uk
		4HR	2 maii. nec-minise necico.uk
Clerk to the	Mr S Clee	Three Gables	01299 402338
Council	IVII 3 CIEE	Hop Pole Lane	E-mail:
Council		Bewdley DY12 2QH	stephenjclee@gmail.com
		Dewaley DT12 ZQT	Stephenjelee@gman.com