WFDC logo

Chairman of the Council

Chairman - David Little

David _Little

Wyre Forest District Council has a new Chairman for 2017-18. Councillor David Little was elected to the post during the annual Council meeting on Wednesday 10th May.

Councillor David Little takes over from outgoing chairman Councillor Rose Bishop.

The Chairman’s Charities are the Air Ambulance and Macmillan Nurses.

Chairman Protocol and Precedence

The Chairman is the first citizen throughout the District and takes precedence over all others, except if Royalty, the Lord Lieutenant or the High Sheriff is present.
Whenever a representative of the District Council is required to officiate at a public function, it is appropriate for the Chairman to be invited. In his/her absence, the Vice-Chairman of the Council can attend.

The Chairman of the District Council takes precedence over the Town Mayors and Parish Council Chairmen.
If the event is organised by or on behalf of the District Council, or is hosted by them, the Chairman takes precedence over all other guests.
The Local Government Act 1972 provides that the Chairman 'shall have precedence in the District'. Accordingly the place to be reserved for the Chairman should be on the immediate right of the Chairman or person presiding at the function. The Chairman and consort should be met on arrival by the Chairman or person presiding at the function.

Previous Chairmen of the Council

Wyre Forest District Council