WFDC logo

Eighteen local heroes picked up awards at this year’s No Barriers, the Mike Oborski Awards held on Thursday 20 October 2016.

This year’s event kicked off with a warm welcome from Ray Brookes from the Community Housing Group who hosted the event at their Foley Park offices on behalf of Wyre Forest District Council.

The awards are an annual scheme organised by Wyre Forest District Council to recognise individuals and organisations that go the extra mile for people with disabilities.

There was an extra treat in store for this years’ No Barriers award winners. Paralympian swimming champion Claire Cashmore was the key speaker. Claire told the guests about her recent medal winning success at the Rio Paralympics and gave an inspirational insight into the life of a top competitive athlete. No Barriers Award Winners 2016Web

Councillors’ Fran Oborski and Nicky Gale awarded No Barriers, The Mike Oborski Awards to:

  • Elaine Ball, Emotions Dance Club
  • Beverley Coldrick, Wyre Forest Community Transport
  • Amanda Connor and Penny Bedworth, Tesco
  • Adrian Llewellyn at Bishop’s Wood
  • Tia and the Gatsby Emporium
  • Richard and Lainey at the Cavalier Pub
  • Elaine Ball and Eleanor Mouzer
  • Denise Bedrock, WF & District MS Society
  • Reel Cinema, Kidderminster
  • The Windlass Cafe, Stourport-on-Severn
  • Old Rose and Crown, Stourport-on-Severn
  • The Brinton Arms, Stourport-on-Severn
  • Trimmers Hair and Beauty
  • Tom Ewins at KDYT
  • Marks and Spencer, Kidderminster
  • Kimberely Stokes
  • Lickhill Manor Caravan and Camping Park
  • Friends of Springfield Park, Kidderminster

Cllr Fran Oborski said:

“It was another superb No Barriers event made extra special by Claire Cashmore and her success story.  My husband Mike, in whose memory the awards are given,  would have been proud of the way the scheme has taken root in the community.  It is very uplifting to hear what some people are doing to help others – simply because it is the right the right thing to do.”

The event was bought to a close by Councillor Rose Bishop, Chairman of Wyre Forest District Council who acknowledged the significant contribution made by all the No Barriers award winners and thanked them for their dedication and continued hard work.

View our gallery of images from the 2016 Awards Ceremony

You may be interested in..

Wyre Forest District Council