WFDC logo

The number of councillors representing each ward on Stourport Town Council is being reviewed, as part of a Community Governance Review.

Wyre Forest District Council is conducting a Community Governance Review (CGR) in Stourport-on-Severn.  It follows a request from the Town Council that perceives there to be anomalies in the distribution of seats.

There are currently 18 Councillors and six wards.  Following changes which were introduced after the Local Government Boundary Commission Review in 2014 there is a big difference in the number of people each councillor represents.  In Stour & Wilden ward there are 6 councillors each representing around 550 electors, while in Stourport North there are 2 councillors each representing around 2070 councillors each.

The CGR is being undertaken under the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007.  It looks at all issues relating to the governance of the area and not just the electoral arrangements.

Wyre Forest District Council has today (Tuesday 1 November) published the terms of reference for the CGR and is asking for comments and views from local electors and other interested parties on what the potential future arrangements should be.  The Terms of Reference includes some possible alternative arrangements for the distribution of seats.  They can be viewed on the council’s website or at Wyre Forest District Council’s offices at Wyre Forest House, Finepoint Way, Kidderminster DY11 7WF.  They are also available at Stourport-on-Severn Town Council’s Office or Stourport-on-Severn Library, Civic Centre, New Street, Stourport-on-Severn, DY13 8UN.

Ian Miller, Returning Officer said:

“The Community Governance Review gives people a chance to comment on any issues relating to the governance of the area.  To assist the Town Council, local electors and other interested parties in responding to the CGR, the terms of reference set out alternative patterns of representation for the North, Stour & Wilden, Areley Kings East and Lickhill wards.  However we would welcome other ideas and proposals being put forward too. Any changes, if agreed by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, would not come into effect until the next Stourport Town Council elections in May 2019.”

Comments can be emailed to and should be submitted by 5pm on Wednesday 1 February 2017.  The can also be posted to Electoral Services Wyre Forest District Council, Wyre Forest House, Finepoint Way, Kidderminster, Worcestershire, DY11 7WF.

Full Council will consider the responses at its meeting on Wednesday 22 February 2017. This meeting will be webcast from 6pm and can be viewed here.


You may be interested in..

Wyre Forest District Council