WFDC logo

The Leader of Wyre Forest District Council, Councillor Marcus Hart, earlier today (Monday 14 November) informed Councillors of a change that he is making to membership within his Cabinet.

Councillor Sally Chambers has stood down from the Cabinet to concentrate on her full-time job which she has started recently and which means that she can no longer devote the necessary time to the role as Cabinet member. Councillor Chambers remains a member of the District Council and of Kidderminster Town Council.

Councillor Juliet Smith has been appointed as Cabinet Member for Health, Well-being and Housing to replace Councillor Chambers. Councillor Smith represents the Blakebrook & Habberley South ward and has been serving recently as Vice Chairman of the Council. She has given up the latter role on joining the Cabinet. Councillor Smith is also a member of Kidderminster Town Council.

Councillor Hart said “I am sorry to lose Sally Chambers’ services from my Cabinet. She has made a valuable contribution across her portfolio and has brought fresh perspectives to the work of the Cabinet. I would highlight in particular the work that she has been doing to improve our commercial activity, income generation and marketing, including overseeing the very successful overhaul of the shop at Bewdley Museum, which has tripled takings in 2016. I understand and support her need to focus on her full-time job and wish her well for the future. Her decision to step down demonstrates the demands of the role of being a Cabinet member.

“I was delighted to invite Juliet Smith to join the Cabinet. She has played an effective part in the work of the Council, having served as Chairman of the Ethics and Standards Committee prior to being elected as Vice-Chairman of the full Council in May. I look forward to seeing her deploy her knowledge and skills to make a contribution in this wide-ranging Cabinet role.”

The full Council meeting on 14 December will elect a new Vice-Chairman for the remainder of the municipal year.




You may be interested in..

Wyre Forest District Council