WFDC logo

Ten local heroes picked up awards at this year’s No Barriers, the Mike Oborski Awards held on Thursday 22 October 2015.

This year’s event kicked off with a warm welcome from Marina Banner from the Community Housing Group who hosted the event at their Foley Park offices on behalf of Wyre Forest District Council.

The awards are an annual scheme organised by Wyre Forest District Council to recognise individuals and organisations that go the extra mile for people with disabilities.

There was an inspirational presentation from Elaine ball who together with her daughter Eleanor runs the amazing Wheely Different Theatre Company – a thriving theatre group with more than fifty members.NoBarriers15

Councillors’ Fran Oborski and Jenny Greener awarded No Barriers, The Mike Oborski Awards to:

  • Carole Gibbs and Chris Mansell at the Forestry Commission for coaching and promoting use of ‘Trampers’ – special mobility scooters to explore the Wyre Forest
  • Jenny Bull for dedicating her time and energy to create community inclusive allotments in Wolverley
  • Tia Sharman and team The Gatsby Emporium community cafe and day care centre in Oxford Street, Kidderminster
  • Dave and Hazel Stock for their welcoming junior athletics group held every Sunday morning at Stourport Sports Club
  • Penny Dredge for 10 years service and going the extra mile for members of the Kidderminster based Dial-A-Ride service, and
  • Elaine Ball and Eleanor Mouzer who run the Wheely Different Theatre Company with more than 50 members of all abilities
  • Sandra Weidrick at Someone’s Art for her dedication to providing a safe, welcoming place for people of all ages and abilities to explore their creativity
  • KRISP – the Kidderminster Retail initiative and Safety Partnership for being the ears and eyes of the town centre and providing a members’ radio network service

Cllr Fran Oborski said:

“It was another superb event and Mike would have been proud of the way the scheme has taken root in the community. It is very uplifting to hear what some people are doing to help others – simply because it is the right the right thing to do.”

The event was bought to a close by Councillor Chris Rogers, Chairman of Wyre Forest District Council who acknowledged the significant contribution made by all the No Barriers award winners and thanked them for their dedication and continued hard work.

See the photograph's here.


You may be interested in..

Wyre Forest District Council