WFDC logo

Tributes have been paid to former Councillors of Wyre Forest District Council who were not successful in gaining re-election to the Council in the elections on 7 May.

In addition to four former Councillors who stood down at the election, a further fourteen were not successful in their quest for re-election.

They included the chairmen of three of the Council’s committees: Liz Davies who chaired the Overview and Scrutiny Committee in 2014/15 and was Leader of the Council in 2002/03; Paul Harrison who had chaired the Licensing and Environmental Committee for a number of years; and Tracey Onslow who was chairman of the Audit Committee in 2014/15 and previous Cabinet member for Community and Well-being.

The group of 14 former Councillors had a total of over 110 years’ service between them, the three longest serving being Chris Nicholls (24 years), Paul Harrison (18 years across two blocks) and Brian Glass (16 years). Mr Nicholls was Chairman of the Council in 1998/99.

Councillor Stephen Williams, the Chairman of the Council, said:

“I would like to pay tribute to former colleagues following the recent elections. Whether they had served for one year or for many years, they have given dedicated service to local communities and the people that they represented. I would particularly like to pay tribute to Chris Nicholls, one of my predecessors as Chairman, who had served the ward of Cookley for over 20 years and remains a member of Wolverley and Cookley Parish Council.

“I know other Councillors would want to join me in wishing their former colleagues well for the future.”

Wyre Forest District Council