WFDC logo

The Leader of Wyre Forest District Council, Councillor Marcus Hart, has unveiled the shape of his proposed Cabinet.

Councillor Hart has been re-elected as Leader of the Conservative Group following the elections on 7 May. The Group has 21 of the 30 Councillors who were elected on that date, and it is expected that Councillor Hart will be formally re-appointed as the Leader of the Council at its annual general meeting on 27 May.

Councillor Hart said:

“I cannot formally appoint members of the Cabinet until I have been re-elected as Leader of the Council. However I am making an announcement now in order to provide early notice of my plans and to allow for colleagues to begin to be briefed on their new Cabinet responsibilities.

“I am delighted to announce that I intend to appoint Councillor Ian Hardiman as Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Operational Services. He was a valued member of the Cabinet prior to 2014 and I am pleased that he has agreed to rejoin in an enhanced role.

“I am also pleased to confirm that I intend to appoint the following other Cabinet members:

Councillor John-Paul Campion, Cabinet Member for Planning and Economic Regeneration

Councillor Sally Chambers, Cabinet Member for Health, Well-being and Housing

Councillor Nathan Desmond, Cabinet Member for Resources

Councillor Sara Fearn, Cabinet Member for Transformation and Change."


Cabinet portfolios, May 2015

Councillor Marcus Hart

Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Strategy

  • Strategic policy co-ordination
  • National & Regional Influence
  • Oversight of strategic projects including Leisure Centres, Wyre Forest House, depot relocation project and future delivery model for cultural and leisure services
  • Localism agenda including community governance review of Kidderminster; asset transfers; relations with parish councils
  • Emergency planning
  • Partnerships, policy and performance
  • Communication & branding

Councillor Ian Hardiman

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Operational Services

  • Parks and open spaces
  • Grounds Maintenance
  • Waste Reduction
  • Parking Services
  • Refuse Collection & Recycling
  • Fleet Management
  • Street Cleansing
  • Public Conveniences
  • Cemeteries
  • Corporate theme: health and safety

Councillor Nathan Desmond

Cabinet Member for Resources

  •   Finance & Audit
  •   Legal services
  •   Democratic services
  •   Human resources
  •   Building maintenance and facilities management

Councillor John-Paul Campion

Cabinet Member for Planning and Economic Regeneration

  • Forward planning, local development framework
  • Development Control
  • Building Control
  • Land charges
  • Economic Development & Regeneration
  • Town Centres
  • Tourism
  • Regeneration schemes including extension of Weavers Wharf, Exchange Square, Bewdley medical practice, Lloyds Garage site
  • Development of assets to support regeneration and increase income

Councillor Sally Chambers

Cabinet Member for Health, Well-being and Housing

  • Housing including Registered Social Landlords, Private Sector & Homelessness
  • Health and well-being
  • Cultural services
  • Countryside service
  • Community Safety 
  • Regulatory Services
  • Corporate themes: safeguarding, equality & diversity, sustainability, relations with voluntary sector

Councillor Sara Fearn

Cabinet Member for Transformation and Change

  • Wyre Forest Forward, Transformational change
  • Revenues & benefits
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Corporate theme: Income generation
  • Customer Services 


Wyre Forest District Council