WFDC logo

A record number of people in the Wyre Forest District have registered to vote by post in next week’s (Thursday 22 May 2014) European Parliamentary and local elections.

Wyre Forest District Council has announced there are 77,243 people on the Electoral Register. This represents a reduction of just under one percent (0.85%) compared to the number registered to vote in the elections in May 2013. Of these, 10,966 or 14% have requested a postal vote. This is up by 636 electors compared to the number who registered to vote by post in 2013.

Ian Miller, Returning Officer said:

“We have more than 77,000 people on the Electoral Register and I would urge everyone who’s registered to use their vote. It is really important for people to have their say. Anyone who has opted to vote by post should return their ballot paper in good time to arrive on or before 22 May. If they forget to post it, they can still return it to a polling station in their ward on election day. We’re also asking people who are voting in person to check their poll card carefully to make sure they go to their allocated polling station. “

He added:

"It is now too late for people to register to vote in Wyre Forest at the elections on 22 May or to register for a postal vote for those elections. People can apply for an emergency proxy, but this can only be issued for medical and workplace reasons. The deadline for this is 5pm on Thursday 22 May. People should call our Elections Team on 01562 732928 and they will help them with how to apply and let them know what documents will be required.”

The count for the District Council and Parish Council elections will start on the morning of Friday 23 May. The results will be uploaded to the Council’s website and posted on Facebook and Twitter as they are declared. The count for the European Parliamentary seats will take place on the evening of Sunday 25 May 2014. The West Midlands result will be published on the Council’s website.

More information about the elections is available on the Council’s website.

Wyre Forest District Council