WFDC logo

Two groups have formed a strategic alliance to lead the political administration of Wyre Forest District Council for 2014/15.

Announcing the alliance between the Conservative Group and the Liberal and Independent Group, Councillor Marcus Hart, the Leader of the Council, said:

“This agreement between the two groups provides stability and certainty in the political administration and direction of the Council for the period to the next elections in May 2015. We have come together in the interests of local residents and businesses to continue driving forward the programme of change for the Council. We will focus on delivering the agreed priorities of economic regeneration and keeping the district safe, clean and looking good in line with the medium term financial strategy adopted last year.”

“While the two groups will be working as a team, as Leader of the Council I will endeavour to build consensus with all the political groups on the Council in the best interests of Wyre Forest."

As part of the alliance, Councillor Helen Dyke, leader of the Liberal and Independent Group, will take a seat in the Cabinet. She said:

“I am pleased that the two groups have prioritised good governance and stability for the Council and local residents. My group will now play a direct role in decision-making on the many issues dealt with by the Cabinet. I am looking forward to moving from the scrutiny role that I have performed for a number of years into my Cabinet post, where I will have lead responsibility for a range of important front-line services.”

In addition to the appointment of Councillor Dyke to the Cabinet, Councillor Hart has announced a number of changes to portfolios of Cabinet members. The appointment and changes take immediate effect.

The strategic alliance has also agreed a package of proposals for chairing Council committees and appointments to external bodies which will be debated by the full Council on 18 June.

The annual general meeting of Wyre Forest District Council takes place at 6pm on Wednesday 18 June at Wyre Forest House. Members of the public are welcome to attend and the webcast can also be viewed on line at /

The revised membership and portfolios of Cabinet members are:

Cabinet portfolios June 2014

Councillor Marcus Hart Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Strategy

Strategic policy co-ordination
National & Regional Influence
Oversight of strategic projects including Leisure Centres, Wyre Forest House and depot relocation project
Regulatory services
Localism agenda including asset transfers; relations with parish councils
Emergency planning
Partnerships, policy and performance
Communication & branding

Councillor Nathan Desmond Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Resources and Transformation

Finance & Audit
Revenues & benefits
Customer Services
Information and Communication Technology
Wyre Forest Forward, Transformational change
Legal services
Democratic services
Human resources
Building maintenance and facilities management

Councillor Anne Hingley Cabinet Member for Health, Well-being and Housing

Housing including Registered Social Landlords, Private Sector & Homelessness
Health and well-being
Cultural services
Community Safety
Corporate themes: equality & diversity, sustainability, relations with voluntary sector

Councillor John-Paul Campion Cabinet Member for Planning and Economic Regeneration

Forward planning, local development framework
Development Control
Building Control
Land charges
Economic Development & Regeneration
Town Centres
Regeneration schemes including extension of Weavers Wharf, Exchange Square, Bewdley medical practice, Lloyds Garage site
Asset management including development of assets to support regeneration and increase income

Councillor Helen Dyke Cabinet Member for Operational Services

Parks and open spaces
Grounds Maintenance
Waste Reduction
Refuse Collection & Recycling
Fleet Management
Street Cleansing
Public Conveniences
Parking Services
Countryside service
Corporate theme: health and safety

Wyre Forest District Council